top of page
Search
  • jjamk1864

What I learned this semester

I have learned so much more than I thought I would in last five weeks. This class focused on how language and behavior are related, and while previously I suppose I knew this I never gave it much thought. I have learned just how important it is to create solid frames in which we can build our knowledge off of. New frames of mind and ways thinking seem to be in a constant state of flux, and if you take the time to really think about it almost everything, we do is due to something we have previously encountered or heard about.


Looking at my decision to come study in Italy over summer isn’t really that surprising when I look back at my history. From grade 7 to grade 10 I took Italian class in school, I took it again in college to satisfy my language requirement, and if you really want to go back far enough, I only started Italian in middle school because my sister took it when she was in middle school. As for studying abroad it is always being advertised at my school, and almost half my friends have already completed a study abroad program. I have been led to this decision by two of my frames of opposition (Italian and study abroad programs) suddenly merging together after my professor came to talk my psychology class about this great study abroad program in Italy being offered over the summer. After that I had a new frame of coordination, and I was not about to ignore it.


Honestly, I think the best take away from this course is the realization that everything we do has a reason behind it. While, it not always be a perfect explanation of why a decision was made or why action was preformed I can appreciate that this course taught me to stand back from the problem and look at the learning history of the figure in front of me before making judgements about why someone or something made those particular choices.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page