top of page
Search
  • jadegallo

Mi Amore Perugina

Upon arriving to Perugia, I did not know what to expect. It was a little city in Italy I had never heard of, but my study abroad advisor built this magical idea of it around my head which encouraged me to choose the Umbra Institute in Perugia to study abroad. I enrolled in a wine tasting class as well as a psychology class dealing with radical communication and behaviors among different cultures. I literally knew nothing about what was going to happen, so I kind of just went for it.


To my surprise, Perugia easily became my second home. I fell in love with this enchanting little place, even with the program and classes I chose! Everything completely exceeded my expectations. While I felt at home right away, their were some differences in culture that became very new to me. For example, never had I imagined I would eat pizza with a knife and fork or stand while drinking my coffee! Here are some other behaviors I noticed in Perugia that initially seemed obscure to me, but I easily adapted to:

  1. When saying hello, it is extremely normal to greet someone with a kiss on each cheek rather than a hug or one kiss. 

  2. Tap water is not really served at restaurants, just bottled. 

  3. You need to bring your dishes to the counter after going to a bar or pasticceria. 

  4. There is less athleisure wear and everyone dresses a lot nicer, especially men.

  5.  Italy overall is an extremely dog friendly place as well, they are allowed in restaurants, stores, etc. 

  6. When you go shopping, the store clerks are much more attentive and helpful. 

  7. Water is used a lot more sparingly- lack of dishwashers and washing machines. 

  8. There is no air conditioning despite how insanely hot it gets.

  9.  Recycling all different materials is strictly enforced. 

  10. Getting a 1000 euro fine for being too loud is not necessarily a thing in the United States like it is in Perugia

  11. Cell phone culture is also not as big, they do not have them out as much as we do in the States. 

  12. Italians are a lot more soft spoken- most of the time. 

  13. Late at night, there are vending machines outside the pharmacies with anything one may need that can be found in a pharmacy.

  14. Going out culture is really different, people mostly get a drink and hang out in the piazza, rather than going to a club or bar for the night.

Last but not least, one of my favorite differences was the endearing mini metro used to travel throughout the city. My radical communications professor, Rocco, compared it to the train seen in The Incredibles movie, and I think it is the most accurate description! I am so used to the subway, being from New York City, that the mini metro was a much nicer change of pace.


All in all my experience in Perugia, Italy is one I definitely will NEVER forget. I have never been more sure of myself than when I have been here. This class has also taught me to be aware of many behaviors when dealing with different cultures, and embracing them rather than rejecting them. I cannot wait to go home and bring everything that I have learned here, teach it to my friends and family, and carry it with me for the rest of my life! Alla prossima Perugia!!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page